The purpose of the European Council of the Liberal Professions (CEPLIS) is the study and promotion, both at the scientific and cultural levels, of all means, information and data related to the exercise and policies of the liberal professions.

Its objective in this regard is to:

  • Co-ordinate and defend the moral, cultural scientific and material interests of the liberal professions;
  • Implement any information type action which may help to achieve the objectives defined in the previous item;
  • Create or participate in all necessary organisations or services, and in general to implement all measures which may contribute to accomplishing the objective of the association.

CEPLIS acts independently of all political, linguistic, philosophical and ethnic considerations.

The association has no profit making objectives.

CEPLIS can only take a position on a specific problem concerning a given liberal profession on the express request of the member representing this profession within CEPLIS and exclusively within the limits defined by its association objectives.

Moreover, CEPLIS shall not take sides in a conflict involving different professions represented by it, different representations of the same profession at the European level, or different Interprofessional Organisations within any one State.

Each member of CEPLIS maintains the right to defend itself the special interests of its profession within Europe.

Executive Board

Gaetano Stella

Victoria Ortega
First Vice-President

Jean-Yves Pirlot

Jean-Philippe BROCHET
Vice-President in tandem with Mrs. Zerah


Simone Zerah
Vice-President in tandem with Mr. Brochet


Benjamin Rizzo

Mario Gazic

Roy Spitz

James Lonergan


Michaël Van Gompen
Member in tandem with Mr. Jacquemin

Bernard Jacquemin
Member in tandem with Mr. Van Gompen

Klaus Thürriedl

Discussion Forums

The Permanent Committee
(President :Mrs. Victoria Ortega (UP))
(conferences and seminars on European live-interest subjects, exchange of information and experiences, meetings with European personalities)

Presidents of honor

Rudolf Kolbe

Secretariat General

(4 permanent employees)
Director General – Senior Policy Advisor
Prof. Dr. Theodoros Koutroubas

From left to right:
Mr. Vincent StoefsPolicy Advisor Jr
Mr. Nicolas Gallant  – Policy Advisor Jr
Prof. Dr. Theodoros KoutroubasDirector General – Senior Policy Advisor
Mr. Maximilien CuvelierPolicy Advisor § Press Officer